Blockchain News 04.09.2018

Deutsche Börse launches dedicated cryptocurrency and blockchain unit

German capital markets giant Deutsche Börse has created a dedicated “DLT, Crypto Assets and New Market Structures” department for exploring the application of blockchain technology. Jens Hachmeister, Managing Director of the DLT, Crypto Assets and New Market for Deutsche Börse said the exchange has been active with the blockchain in a first phase of “ideation and exploration… We invested in various initiatives to create a sound understanding of the trends, the technology, and its potential within the traditional segments of our value chain.”

Deutsche Börse managing director went on to say “From Deutsche Börse’s point of view, the DLT/blockchain technology is a key opportunity for the creation of new market structures, adding new products onto our present structures and enhancing our existing offerings… In the future, there will be more peer-to-peer governed marketplaces and less intermediaries. In that regard, blockchain has the potential to disrupt the capital markets infrastructure.”

Abra adds SEPA support, opening door for users across Europe

Crypto wallet and exchange startup Abra is opening up a new channel for deposits: European bank accounts. Residents in the Single Euro Payments Area (SEPA), as well as additional nations in the European Union, can now transfer Euros or other national currencies directly to Abra, which in turn deposits Bitcoin into users’ digital wallets.

CEO Bill Barhydt said the company has been working with crypto payments processor Coinify to add support for European banks in order to give access to SEPA account holders.

Previously, Abra wallets were funded using bank and wire transfers in the United States as well as via American Express, Visa and MasterCard debit and credit cards around the world. Officially, Abra’s European bank transfers will occur using the SEPA guidelines. Under SEPA, several European member countries will also be eligible to deposit national fiat currency in addition to Euros.The SEPA area includes the 28 members of the European Union, as well as four members of the European Free Trade Association Austria, Germany, Netherlands, Belgium, Greece, Poland, Bulgaria, Hungary, Portugal, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania, Czech Republic, Italy, Slovak Republic, Denmark, Latvia, Slovenia, Estonia, Lithuania, Spain, Finland, Luxembourg, Sweden, France, Malta, United Kingdom and Croatia, Iceland , Monaco , Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Norway, San Marino. 

Kraken Daily Market Report for 03.09.2018


$81.1M traded across all markets today

Blockchain News 04.09.2018

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *